My Father’s Land

1 comment
Uncategorized

Bogotá, Colombia.

Click image for more.

Over the holidays, I was lucky enough to spend two weeks in Colombia–my father’s native country, with my family.  The last time I had visited, I was seven years-old.  Ever since my first visit, the country has remained a magical and fantastic childhood memory. I was happy to discover that my childhood memories were not so farfetched, and that the country was actually just as magical as I had remembered it.  Photographically speaking, the rolling green hills, the ubiquitous stray dogs, the colors of each home, textile, or fruit was nothing short of inspiring.

Suddenly, the rules of color that I had learned about in Bill Armstrong’s workshop were applicable, and I finally felt that the uncanny color harmonies, that only Alex Webb is able to capture, were within my reach.  Every day, and I say this without exaggeration, I saw people in clothing that coordinated with the buildings or setting around them. It was remarkable. It wasn’t luck or happenstance, it’s just the way it is. Which is probably why Latin America is a photographer’s dream.  I could go on about my experiences in Colombia, but for now, I’d just like to share some photographs that represent some of the unexpected color harmonies I was seeing left and right.

-Cassie G.

One thought on “My Father’s Land”

Leave a Reply

